Author Topic: Learning how to make games  (Read 6920 times)

Offline Savagefrog

Learning how to make games
« on: December 03, 2009, 02:20:53 AM »
I have a question for the people who work on making this game. Where did you learn how to do it. Are you self taught or did you go to classes for it?

Offline Midnight_Amratha

Re: Learning how to make games
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2009, 02:32:38 AM »
making games comes in two parts, each equally difficult and gruelling.

part one: Get a good (!) idea for a game.
part two: assemble a good team while learning how to program.

if you manage those two parts then you're guaranteed to make a good game.
The line between lunacy and genious is very thin.
So far i haven't been able to find it.

Offline zodiac44

• Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2009, 03:00:49 AM »
There is also a who crapload of game design theory to be learned as well, though there aren't many sources to learn it from.  Having consulted for a game development company and being a veteran gamer with hundreds of different systems under my belt, I have a pretty good feel for ideas that will work and those that won't when it comes to the mechanics of a game.  You can have a fantastic idea for a game with a great development team, and still make a poor game if you don't get the mechanics right.

Good examples are: Sacred (good story, good dev team, terribly clunky mechanics), Master of Orion III (successor to one of the most popular strategy franchises ever, great dev team, but the game's mechanics were wholly dissociated with the rest of the game - like playing chess with Monopoly rules tacked on), Axis and Allies (great concept, poorly executed mechanics)
Capitalization is the difference between "I had to help my uncle Jack off a horse" and "I had to help my uncle jack off a horse."

Offline Savagefrog

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2009, 03:11:38 AM »