devolution

Author Topic: General Discussion  (Read 3821437 times)

0 Members and 45 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2355 on: March 23, 2014, 05:28:25 AM »
*Slightly broke slideshow with the last push. Will fix that tomorrow.
*Find out why gilsmeets aint more randomized.
*Take a look into the guard thing Jaeke reported.

@Dark, Ok, got it!
Like what we're doing?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2356 on: March 23, 2014, 06:48:13 AM »
Ok, all of that is crossed off the list...

I really hate how traits are currently working in the game, I wanna try to re-implement it without changing the data file. I had a few today already so I am not 100% that I pull it off but I am going try.
Like what we're doing?

Offline CherryWood

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2357 on: March 23, 2014, 07:32:30 AM »
I have a girl_id label to what the game will jump from pre-gm girls selection (girlsmeets_quest thing).
So my label starts, but I still have previous screen on (pyt_city_parkgates, pyt_city_beach_cafe...).
How to hide these when I don't know from where my label starts?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2358 on: March 23, 2014, 07:48:36 AM »
I have a girl_id label to what the game will jump from pre-gm girls selection (girlsmeets_quest thing).
So my label starts, but I still have previous screen on (pyt_city_parkgates, pyt_city_beach_cafe...).
How to hide these when I don't know from where my label starts?

Ouch... that's a tougth one.

Try:

Code: [Select]
$ renpy.hide_screen(renpy.current_screen().tag)
if that doesn't do anything, try:
Code: [Select]
$ renpy.hide_screen("_".join(["pyt", pytfall.gm.label_cache]))
If that doesn't work either, I'll automatically disable it in the core code.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2359 on: March 23, 2014, 08:01:00 AM »
Even though I don't use new data files with race field yet, all girls still should have Human race by default. However, I don't see it.

I really hate how traits are currently working in the game
Why?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2360 on: March 23, 2014, 08:40:13 AM »
Even though I don't use new data files with race field yet, all girls still should have Human race by default. However, I don't see it.

Race field default to empty string since game can also use Crazy girls that do not have race fields and would look really weird. On default, race is not displayed at all.

Why?

Because we went through some trouble to get stats to display as percentages of 100. Traits mess that up completely because girls with 5 - 6 traits get their stats pushed to a very high level, almost always above their maximum cap.

There are two issues with that:

- Percentage systems is near bloody useless.
- Most stat increases @ game start go down the toilet since traits do not have a separate layer of stats like items do.

I've implemented a solution that might have a better chance of working. Stats will be increased by 10% of what trait is actually supposed to be increasing every 5 levels. If trait is lost, the cumulative effect is lost with it. If gained again, the cumulative effect is restored. If levels are increased normally while girl has the trait, effects are applied on level-ups.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2361 on: March 23, 2014, 09:02:58 AM »
On default, race is not displayed at all.
You should have mentioned it before. Added human race to my data files.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2362 on: March 23, 2014, 09:05:50 AM »
You should have mentioned it before. Added human race to my data files.

I figured it was not very important. Race will really shine when we add elven city, girl capture, slavetraining. For now it's just a decoration.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2363 on: March 23, 2014, 11:01:55 AM »
Don't forget to add GonDra to credits.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2364 on: March 23, 2014, 11:14:15 AM »
Don't forget to add GonDra to credits.

Already done with the last push.
Like what we're doing?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2365 on: March 23, 2014, 04:02:45 PM »
New update:

- Very slightly lower Prostitutes income at highest levels
- Decreased the amount of AP characters have
- Increased experience gain for the hero and reduced for it for girls
- Added edgescroll to MC Sprite viewport
Like what we're doing?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2366 on: March 23, 2014, 08:50:24 PM »
SF Updated:

- Taxation, without penalties
- Simple MC Report and to ND and filters
- MC Finanace screen fixed
- MC will now log stats to display on next day
- Dev mode will start with 100k gold
Like what we're doing?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2367 on: March 24, 2014, 07:25:49 AM »
@ Dark:

Can you look into ripping:

textures.dtl file from this game: http://www.pinkpetal.org/index.php?topic=332.msg26349#msg26349?

It might be an option for our dungeon.
Like what we're doing?

Offline CherryWood

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2368 on: March 24, 2014, 09:38:59 AM »
I've made a meetscrip for Rei, it's in her folder now. It's basically just a purchase of a slave with small show reference, to test if this option works.


But this is seriously getting on my nerves as I've seen this report:
Code: [Select]
I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

After loading the script.
Exception: Invalid key specifier skip
like hundred times and it gives absolutely no clue where to look for bad code  :(

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #2369 on: March 24, 2014, 09:44:14 AM »
Code: [Select]
I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

After loading the script.
Exception: Invalid key specifier skip

I know... It's like telling you: Go look for an error somewhere in 100k lines of code. Have fun!

I will report it at Lemma, this is ridiculous.
Like what we're doing?