Author Topic: General Discussion  (Read 3821782 times)

0 Members and 28 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7275 on: May 01, 2016, 10:50:18 AM »
Lighting wrath doesn't have animation. It's your spell, I dunno what kind of animation it should use.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7276 on: May 01, 2016, 10:52:30 AM »
Lighting wrath doesn't have animation. It's your spell, I dunno what kind of animation it should use.

Really? It used to, I'll take a look.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7277 on: May 01, 2016, 11:00:03 AM »
Well, I like the new quests popup, but I only see it working for quest beginning.
Not for updating or finishing/failing.

I pushed the DOA quest, it should work, assuming you have the DOA pack.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7278 on: May 01, 2016, 11:12:25 AM »
I don't have DOA, quest pop-up I've tested for starting and updating the quests. We need some simple quest setup through a menu in dev mode to test this kind of stuff...
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7279 on: May 01, 2016, 11:22:26 AM »
Well, you can take a look how I update and finish/fail quests in the code, or download dead or alive pack, it's pretty small compared to some others. I've never seen any new popups there except the beginning.

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7280 on: May 01, 2016, 12:30:56 PM »
I added jpeg support to all cases when we check "if file.endswith((". It shouldn't really break anything, the game should use jpegs everywhere.

Now the game tells me
Quote
  File "game/script.rpy", line 108, in script
    python:
  File "D:\Pytfall\RenPy\renpy\ast.py", line 806, in execute
    renpy.python.py_exec_bytecode(self.code.bytecode, self.hide, store=self.store)
  File "D:\Pytfall\RenPy\renpy\python.py", line 1577, in py_exec_bytecode
    exec bytecode in globals, locals
  File "game/script.rpy", line 114, in <module>
    chars = load_characters("chars", Char)
  File "game/library/functions - loading_data.rpy", line 215, in load_characters
    raise Exception("Unknown image tag: %s, path: %s" % (tag, rp_path))
Exception: Unknown image tag: pb., path: content/chars/Attack_on_Titan/Mikasa_Ackerman/0000-nn-e2-c1-c9-l2-pr-pb.jpeg
Meaning you remove somewhere four last symbols while jpeg requires 5  ::)

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7281 on: May 01, 2016, 12:40:51 PM »
I am downloading the pack. All jpeg can simply be renamed to jpg but I've fixed the code to split instead of slice.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2016, 01:12:08 PM by Xela »
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7282 on: May 01, 2016, 01:11:50 PM »
Can, but not simply when we talking about dozens thousands of pictures.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7283 on: May 01, 2016, 01:12:56 PM »
Can, but not simply when we talking about dozens thousands of pictures.

Yeah, I've fixed this thing, we will now split on dot instead of slicing.
Like what we're doing?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7284 on: May 01, 2016, 01:30:14 PM »
I am at a loss why there are no pop ups at your quest line but there are in mine, we seem to be doing the same thing, gonna take a closer look...
Like what we're doing?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7285 on: May 01, 2016, 03:41:30 PM »
Ok, so there were two issues, one quest became "squelched", no idea why or what for but they don't issue updates if the do. I couldn't tell why it happened in some cases and not in others so i just commented out the code that did it.

Second issue is a bit more serious, when you go back from new context to game context (when you're not using jump), all displayable from the new context are destroyed... there is no way around that which I can see so you should never update the quest right before the end of a label in new context (or just use jump).

In either case, it seems to be working a bit better now.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7286 on: May 01, 2016, 03:59:13 PM »
Huh. I don't see any mentioning of squelching stuff, and the comments are not self-explanatory.

I took that kind of structure when we update quest right before destroying event from the frog quest, except we use jump there all the time, that's why it works.
The idol mini quest, however, might have issues with new popups judging be the code.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7287 on: May 01, 2016, 04:07:41 PM »
Huh. I don't see any mentioning of squelching stuff, and the comments are not self-explanatory.

Basically, it is a subsystem where once a pop-up is shown, you will not see any more pop ups for that quest until you change the location. It was the reason why your second pop up was never shown...

I took that kind of structure when we update quest right before destroying event from the frog quest, except we use jump there all the time, that's why it works.
The idol mini quest, however, might have issues with new popups judging be the code.

Yeap... well, we can always add two modes to the pop up screen, one that stops the game and one that doesn't. Just like it was before...
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7288 on: May 01, 2016, 04:09:08 PM »
I think your system does not take any steps to report about failed quests. No wonder I haven't seen failing notifications.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #7289 on: May 01, 2016, 04:25:54 PM »
I think the idea is to finish (complete) the quest with a message and than fail it (silently) so it is moved to the appropriate list. It's not my system btw.

Gonna call it a night soon.
Like what we're doing?