Author Topic: General Discussion  (Read 3821717 times)

0 Members and 18 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8475 on: September 17, 2016, 11:36:21 AM »
ArrowsSkill ignores duration for firing_effects. As a result, it can shoot arrow before bow animation finishes if the bow animation is long enough, like it does for trinity arrow from my last push.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8476 on: September 17, 2016, 11:56:00 AM »
Something came up. I am going to finish defense buff and take a look at the skill.
Like what we're doing?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8477 on: September 17, 2016, 01:47:08 PM »
There is a number of unexpected difficulties with the buff events. I am going to shelf it for now and take a look at your new skill.
Like what we're doing?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8478 on: September 17, 2016, 02:31:40 PM »
Odd... I recall commenting on every damn line of code after writing this:

Code: [Select]
        """This is the class I am going to comment out really well because this spell was not originally created by me
        and yet I had to rewrite it completely for new BE.
        """

But there is almost no comments in the class... it was not written as a universal solution btw. It was written to fin the parameters of Fire and Ice arrows. firing duration will now be respected as long as it's greater than .6 seconds but there are a lot of improvement to be made for this class if we're to use it a lot.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8479 on: September 17, 2016, 03:01:29 PM »
It will be used. There are quite many bow-like animations. And also gun-like and canon-like ones. I'm not gonna touch them until beta though.

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8480 on: September 18, 2016, 02:20:34 PM »
Weapons attacks menu in BE was wrecked by the amount of attacks again  :)
It will never look like this outside of testing mode because it will be impossible to have so many, but it really complicates testing itself.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8481 on: September 19, 2016, 01:58:23 AM »
Weapons attacks menu in BE was wrecked by the amount of attacks again  :)
It will never look like this outside of testing mode because it will be impossible to have so many, but it really complicates testing itself.

Oki... you can sort the skills before adding them, like if "ranged" in skill.attributes: ...

Or I can make the buttons really small. Gonna be traveling until tomorrow so it's have to wait.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8482 on: September 19, 2016, 02:07:53 AM »
I finished with weapons attacks for now, but the number of attacks will increase greatly after the beta.
Either we stop giving all existing attacks to MC and chars and test skills by equipping weapons (since all skills are tied to weapons), or there should be scrolling.

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8483 on: September 20, 2016, 03:04:58 AM »
I found and pushed a damage effect for water. The idea is do nothing with sprite but show the bubbles webm over it. Pretty much like we do with on_fire damage effect, however there is no need to recolor or hide sprite itself because webm is transparent.
Sadly, we don't have such effects yet, so I don't have an example to make it work.

Offline lamoli

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 553
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8484 on: September 23, 2016, 07:36:12 AM »
Once again im short on free time..

So if its possible for you to fix the things that prevents me to play the game ( dev ) like grilsmeet ( you got nothing better to say ) then send back to title screen or other things like those there .. buildings ( at least 1 even the shack lol ) girls jobs/stats well mostly job related skills that are in the S tab.. not sure they work right.. so this way i could test the girlpacks im gonna make and wont have to worry about a difference between alpha and dev version..

If you can do those things when taking a break from BE ill focus my free time doing whats missing to make those packs

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8485 on: September 23, 2016, 10:26:22 AM »
Once again im short on free time..

So if its possible for you to fix the things that prevents me to play the game ( dev ) like grilsmeet ( you got nothing better to say ) then send back to title screen or other things like those there .. buildings ( at least 1 even the shack lol ) girls jobs/stats well mostly job related skills that are in the S tab.. not sure they work right.. so this way i could test the girlpacks im gonna make and wont have to worry about a difference between alpha and dev version..

If you can do those things when taking a break from BE ill focus my free time doing whats missing to make those packs

Welcome back!

I need to know what does wrong for you, we're running separate testing files, that is why you are not getting any buildings. I can link you to my own file if you like. There will be an issue with next day if you include the FG business as I do but rest of the businesses should work. Girstmeets should just work with the dev version, I can't imagine why they would not. I've been busy for the whole week and gonna have free time for dev stuff only on Sunday.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8486 on: September 23, 2016, 11:02:14 AM »
I was pwned by work this week too -_-

Here's Xela's testing rpy. Without it the dev version might be unstable. With it there only could be CTDs in very old parts of the game. It goes to game/library.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2016, 03:24:01 AM by DarkTl »

Offline lamoli

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 553
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8487 on: September 24, 2016, 10:34:11 AM »
test files works fine.. but there is still the GM problem.. if i compliment clever 1 times its ok but if i do it again i get the  ( you already complimented her .... msg thats normal ) then she says something then it sends me back to title screen..

Ahh errors so still stuck there lol

at start of game ( related to test file it seems:

I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

While running game code:
  File "game/script.rpy", line 288, in script call
    call testing
  File "game/library/testing.rpy", line 8, in script
    python:
  File "game/library/testing.rpy", line 61, in <module>
    hero.add_char(new_random_girl)
  File "game/library/characters/classes - characters.rpy", line 1199, in __getattr__
    raise AttributeError(msg % (key, self.__class__.__name__))
AttributeError: 'add_char' is neither a gamestat nor an attribute of Player

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

Full traceback:
  File "game/script.rpy", line 288, in script call
    call testing
  File "game/library/testing.rpy", line 8, in script
    python:
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\ast.py", line 806, in execute
    renpy.python.py_exec_bytecode(self.code.bytecode, self.hide, store=self.store)
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\python.py", line 1577, in py_exec_bytecode
    exec bytecode in globals, locals
  File "game/library/testing.rpy", line 61, in <module>
    hero.add_char(new_random_girl)
  File "game/library/characters/classes - characters.rpy", line 1199, in __getattr__
    raise AttributeError(msg % (key, self.__class__.__name__))
AttributeError: 'add_char' is neither a gamestat nor an attribute of Player

Windows-7-6.1.7601-SP1
Ren'Py 6.99.10.1227
PyTFall 0.56 Step by Step...

Then after placing the girl in the test building and then i press action i get this:

I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

While running game code:
  File "game/library/screens/character_profile.rpy", line 12, in script
    $ result = ui.interact()
  File "game/library/screens/character_profile.rpy", line 12, in <module>
    $ result = ui.interact()
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 716, in execute
    screen set_action_dropdown(char, pos=()):
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 716, in execute
    screen set_action_dropdown(char, pos=()):
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 735, in execute
    frame:
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 739, in execute
    vbox:
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 740, in execute
    if isinstance(char.location, NewStyleUpgradableBuilding):
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 742, in execute
    $ jobs = char.location.get_valid_jobs(char)
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 742, in <module>
    $ jobs = char.location.get_valid_jobs(char)
  File "game/library/businesses&buildings/classes - core_buildings.rpy", line 658, in get_valid_jobs
    if job.is_valid_for(char):
AttributeError: 'str' object has no attribute 'is_valid_for'

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

Full traceback:
  File "game/library/screens/character_profile.rpy", line 12, in script
    $ result = ui.interact()
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\ast.py", line 806, in execute
    renpy.python.py_exec_bytecode(self.code.bytecode, self.hide, store=self.store)
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\python.py", line 1577, in py_exec_bytecode
    exec bytecode in globals, locals
  File "game/library/screens/character_profile.rpy", line 12, in <module>
    $ result = ui.interact()
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\ui.py", line 277, in interact
    rv = renpy.game.interface.interact(roll_forward=roll_forward, **kwargs)
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 2425, in interact
    repeat, rv = self.interact_core(preloads=preloads, **kwargs)
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 2693, in interact_core
    root_widget.visit_all(lambda i : i.per_interact())
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 396, in visit_all
    d.visit_all(callback)
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 396, in visit_all
    d.visit_all(callback)
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 396, in visit_all
    d.visit_all(callback)
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\display\screen.py", line 386, in visit_all
    callback(self)
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 2693, in <lambda>
    root_widget.visit_all(lambda i : i.per_interact())
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\display\screen.py", line 396, in per_interact
    self.update()
  File "F:\Renpy\renpy-6.99.10-sdk\renpy\display\screen.py", line 565, in update
    self.screen.function(**self.scope)
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 716, in execute
    screen set_action_dropdown(char, pos=()):
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 716, in execute
    screen set_action_dropdown(char, pos=()):
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 735, in execute
    frame:
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 739, in execute
    vbox:
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 740, in execute
    if isinstance(char.location, NewStyleUpgradableBuilding):
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 742, in execute
    $ jobs = char.location.get_valid_jobs(char)
  File "game/library/custom_screens.rpy", line 742, in <module>
    $ jobs = char.location.get_valid_jobs(char)
  File "game/library/businesses&buildings/classes - core_buildings.rpy", line 658, in get_valid_jobs
    if job.is_valid_for(char):
AttributeError: 'str' object has no attribute 'is_valid_for'

Windows-7-6.1.7601-SP1
Ren'Py 6.99.10.1227
PyTFall 0.56 Step by Step...

« Last Edit: September 24, 2016, 10:54:07 AM by lamoli »

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8488 on: September 24, 2016, 10:49:45 AM »
Yeap, there was a small error in the code, just pushed the fix.

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #8489 on: September 24, 2016, 11:07:23 AM »
Do not copy lines that go after Full Traceback, they are not needed.

Other errors do not exist on my end. That means you should pull last changes from the repo, update your renpy to the last prerelease version (update channel in launcher preferences should be set to prerelease), and then force recompile the game (the option in renpy launcher).

You also need at least random character iirc. Random chars go to game\content\rchars\random\
« Last Edit: September 24, 2016, 11:31:35 AM by DarkTl »