Pink Petal Games

Game Discussion => General Discussion & Download => Topic started by: Anon21 on July 13, 2011, 05:08:38 AM

Title: @Dev Team member : Revision.h
Post by: Anon21 on July 13, 2011, 05:08:38 AM
Hi there. I'd like to add 'revision.h' to the SVN repository with the following content.

Code: [Select]
// Required for project to compile. Presumably should be updated with each revision.

#define svn_revision 636

It, or something like it, is needed for the project to compile.
Title: Re: @Dev Team member : Revision.h
Post by: Dagoth on July 14, 2011, 01:20:37 AM
It should be created automatically by the compile process (in Visual Studio or compiling from Linux). The file is not included because it changes with every SVN revision.
Title: Re: @Dev Team member : Revision.h
Post by: Anon21 on July 14, 2011, 04:01:26 AM
It wasn't. I think the reason is probably because I had to disable the pre-build command. It would always fail to compile while giving the error that it wasn't a 'working copy'.
Title: Re: @Dev Team member : Revision.h
Post by: Dagoth on July 14, 2011, 11:06:29 PM
What compiler?
Title: Re: @Dev Team member : Revision.h
Post by: Anon21 on July 15, 2011, 01:19:45 AM
Visual C++ 2010 Express
Title: Re: @Dev Team member : Revision.h
Post by: Dagoth on July 16, 2011, 12:59:20 AM
And you have TortoiseSVN installed, and are using the BrothelMaster.vcxproj project file?

Edit: and have left the .svn folders and such intact, so the SVN revision can be determined?
Title: Re: @Dev Team member : Revision.h
Post by: Anon21 on July 16, 2011, 03:20:48 AM
Let's see ...

Do have TortoiseSVN installed

Am using 'BrothelMaster.sln' from the root directory (but that uses BrothelMaster.vcxproj, by the look of it)

I exported to get a clean copy before compiling, which I guess I shouldn't have? I don't really want all my tinkering all over the original version 635 though.

Title: Re: @Dev Team member : Revision.h
Post by: Xela on July 16, 2011, 05:27:33 PM
Hi there. I'd like to add 'revision.h' to the SVN repository with the following content.

Code: [Select]
// Required for project to compile. Presumably should be updated with each revision.

#define svn_revision 636

It, or something like it, is needed for the project to compile.

Did you figure this out? I seem to be having a similar problem even when trying to compile the original r635?
Title: Re: @Dev Team member : Revision.h
Post by: Dagoth on July 17, 2011, 01:08:02 AM
I exported to get a clean copy before compiling, which I guess I shouldn't have? I don't really want all my tinkering all over the original version 635 though.
Exporting with TortoiseSVN gets rid of the .svn folders, so that's where your problem is. The pre-compile command needs those folders to be present so it can determine the SVN revision number and create Revision.h based on that.