devolution

Author Topic: General Discussion  (Read 3821622 times)

0 Members and 26 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5490 on: August 16, 2015, 03:29:22 PM »
Xela, can you make this work? The code is almost ready for use, but I have no idea how to display the effect, it keeps telling me that it's not a displayable.

What do you need this for btw?
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5491 on: August 16, 2015, 03:46:37 PM »
I believe you can use any kind of pictures there to make effects for characters appearing and disappearing. Including paper.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5492 on: August 16, 2015, 03:51:49 PM »
I believe you can use any kind of pictures there to make effects for characters appearing and disappearing. Including paper.

So you need full vortex, not like the one in the YouTube video? Can't believe that you still didn't give up on damned effects for Konan, she is not even a major character...
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5493 on: August 16, 2015, 03:54:45 PM »
Like I said, if you can use any pictures, it will be useful for many characters who appear with special effects. I don't really care how full it will be since anything is better than nothing.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5494 on: August 16, 2015, 03:58:38 PM »
I'll see what I can do, their code should work as well, you just need to declare it like:

Code: [Select]
image vortex = Particles(ExplodeParticle(*args, **kwargs))
I just don't know if it'll be faster to write ATL variant or making their code work.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5495 on: August 16, 2015, 04:18:54 PM »
I know, but it gave me
Quote
While running game code:
  File "game/library/events/StoryI/Konan_part.rpy", line 26, in script
    show expression (ExplodeParticle(theDisplayable = "content/items/quest/paper.png", timeDelay=0.1))
Exception: Not a displayable: <store.ExplodeParticle instance at 0x0CCEAB20>

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5496 on: August 16, 2015, 04:23:48 PM »
I know, but it gave me

? There is no Particles() in that line (look at my post)... Those things are not Displayable, they are just classes with instructions, Particles() is the Displayable, there is a link in one of the posts to ancient Ren'Py wiki, it has instructions for ExplodingParticle or something like that. They are adapting that setup to work as a vortex.

I'll take a look at ATL + UDD combo instead, should be easier to work with....
Like what we're doing?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5497 on: August 16, 2015, 05:20:25 PM »
There seems to be a bug in Ren'Py atm that prevents me from coding a decent UDD :( I'll report it to GitHub.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5498 on: August 16, 2015, 05:25:46 PM »
Quote
While running game code:
  File "game/library/events/StoryI/Konan_part.rpy", line 26, in script
    pause
  File "renpy/common/000statements.rpy", line 363, in execute_pause
    renpy.pause()
AttributeError: ExplodeParticle instance has no attribute 'create'
Why Particles don't work with pause?  ::)
Basically as long as I put pause after running the animation, it stops working.
 
« Last Edit: August 16, 2015, 05:40:50 PM by DarkTl »

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5499 on: August 16, 2015, 06:01:18 PM »
Why Particles don't work with pause?  ::)
Basically as long as I put pause after running the animation, it stops working.

And it is working without the pause? I don't really know, Particles is a very old class, maybe it's a bug and something is broken or maybe we're not using it right.

Tracking Ren'Py issue here: https://github.com/renpy/renpy/issues/719

I have another idea...
Like what we're doing?

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5500 on: August 17, 2015, 03:16:11 AM »
I have another idea...

Just pushed, take a look and play with some settings when you get a chance. Our version is very easy to expand, improve and yada yada yada.

It will take integers or tuples which values will be use to get a uniform random between them. Angle is always random between 0 and 360, rest should be self evident, except for adjust_radius which if provided expects a tuple with two integers, it will get a random from those integers and add it to the step (step is a radius, divided by the amount of displayable, it will be a constant if not adjusted). Circles is the amount of circles displayable needs to make before disappearing, if tuple if provided, Vortex will get a uniform random between the two values (they can be floats).

Start an issue if you require it to do anything else.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5501 on: August 17, 2015, 09:44:55 AM »
How should I run story scenes inside the game apart from running labels before the game even begins? Because there are always elements of gui remaining on the screen.

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5502 on: August 17, 2015, 11:21:04 AM »
Be more specific please, you can take a look at how example is run, you just need to hide one screen or something like that.
Like what we're doing?

Offline DarkTl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5503 on: August 17, 2015, 11:39:20 AM »
I mean from brothel screen. I found hide screen pyt_city_screen line for city map in other events, but not for brothel.
I mean cases when we need to run events after going to next turn, like they do in many games. That means either we run them and only then go to next turn, or do it right from the next day screen and then show it again.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2015, 12:03:54 PM by DarkTl »

Offline Xela

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6893
  • "It's like hunting cows"
Re: General Discussion
« Reply #5504 on: August 17, 2015, 12:05:38 PM »
I mean from brothel screen. I found hide screen pyt_city_screen line for city map in other events, but not for brothel.
I mean cases when we need to run events after going to next turn, like they do in many games.

Next turn is the next day screen, it's prolly simpler to do it from main screen at and adjust later.

We do not have this ability yet, start an issue, I'll add it after jobs.
Like what we're doing?