devolution

Author Topic: The Game of Coding: Why I update this game  (Read 3644 times)

Offline aevojoey

• Thats ok, I'm used to disappointment.
The Game of Coding: Why I update this game
« on: September 22, 2015, 11:21:29 PM »
A long time ago I added this as my forum signature: "Fixing the game is a better game than actually playing it." I just thought I would expand on this a little.

I think I first found this game years before I started playing it. I may have downloaded it back when the original devs were still actively working on it but I never really bothered to learn how to play it. I probably loaded it once and deleted it.

I found it again in March or April 2014 and actually tried playing it. I found it a little difficult but not bad enough to give up on it again. I went online to see if I could find any documentation for it and found this site. After some searching and reading of what Crazy had been doing with the game, I downloaded the source code for it and tried to see if I could figure out how to fix the problems he was talking about. Having never used C++ it took a few days to find and fix the problem.

On April 23, 2014 I signed up for this site and made my first post basically pointing out the fix I made and then a few more fixes over the next few days. The next month, Crazy gave me access to the source code so I could push fixes myself instead of sending them to him to do. I posted my first version .05I on May 10, 2014 and that was the start of my new game: The Game of Coding.