devolution

Poll

If you are reporting a bug, follow these steps to assist us in finding the cause of your bug

1. Delete the "gamelog.txt" file from your game folder to clear it.
2. Run the game as you normally would until it crashes.
3. Create a zip file with your savegame and your "gamelog.txt" files.
4. Post your bug report with details of how and when you get the crash.
5. Attach the zip file to your report.

Author Topic: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread  (Read 619495 times)

0 Members and 8 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline _rhetorik_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #795 on: March 13, 2015, 03:19:40 PM »
It isn't exactly a bug but the message of profit/loss doesn't use the income modifier in the config file.


Edit: Same for items. The sell price doesn't multiply by the modifier.

« Last Edit: March 13, 2015, 04:32:16 PM by _rhetorik_ »

Offline aevojoey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1413
  • Thats ok, I'm used to disappointment.
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #796 on: March 13, 2015, 09:22:49 PM »
It isn't exactly a bug but the message of profit/loss doesn't use the income modifier in the config file.
Edit: Same for items. The sell price doesn't multiply by the modifier.
Looking through the code, not all of the config income/expense modifiers are used.
The items expense part is only used for gang weapons and the item income is never used.

For the expense numbers, these are used:
training, movie_cost, goon_wages, matron_wages, consumables, item_cost, slave_cost, brothel_cost, brothel_support, advertising
These are not:
actress_wages, staff_wages, girl_support, bar_cost, casino_cost, bribes, fines

Income is even worse, only slave_sales is ever used.
The rest are not: extortion, brothel_work, street_work, movie_income, stripper_work, barmaid_work, item_sales, clinic_income, arena_income, farm_income

Most are actually 2 different variables, in cConfig and in cGoldBase, used the same way but not interacting with each other.
That is probably why they never got working.
Also, because I never change them, I never see them not changing.

I will start trying to incorporate them into the game.
They may not get in all at once or even the same one at the same time, but eventually they should do something.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2015, 09:32:09 PM by aevojoey »
Fixing the game is a better game than actually playing it.
Get the Current Version <|> Discuss the Game <|> Report a bug

Offline Hgo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #797 on: March 14, 2015, 05:49:04 AM »
Probably not necessarily a bug, but Gangs appear to require nets when hunting for any percentage of beasts when using the slider. When there are no nets available and beasts are presumably met while in the catacombs, they will fail to the last couple of men. However, regardless of the availability of nets, when the slider isn't being utilized then they still have a chance to acquire beasts among whatever other spoils. It isn't noted anywhere that nets were required so I was perplexed as to why Gangs were failing to the last man until I realized I had no nets.

Offline aevojoey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1413
  • Thats ok, I'm used to disappointment.
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #798 on: March 14, 2015, 10:14:03 AM »
Probably not necessarily a bug, but Gangs appear to require nets when hunting for any percentage of beasts when using the slider. When there are no nets available and beasts are presumably met while in the catacombs, they will fail to the last couple of men. However, regardless of the availability of nets, when the slider isn't being utilized then they still have a chance to acquire beasts among whatever other spoils. It isn't noted anywhere that nets were required so I was perplexed as to why Gangs were failing to the last man until I realized I had no nets.
Actually it was a bug.
After all the nets were used or if there were no nets, they fight the beast to capture it.
Code: [Select]
if (g_Dice.percent(gang->combat()))
{
    gotbeast;
    continue;
}
was supposed to be
Code: [Select]
if (g_Dice.percent(min(90, gang->combat())))
{
    gotbeast = true;
    continue;
}
without the " = true", they would continue to fight the beast until they all died.
I added the 90% limiter so they will have some chance of losing to the beast.

It will be fixed for the next version.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2015, 10:22:26 AM by aevojoey »
Fixing the game is a better game than actually playing it.
Get the Current Version <|> Discuss the Game <|> Report a bug

Offline _rhetorik_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #799 on: March 14, 2015, 02:00:07 PM »
Looking through the code, not all of the config income/expense modifiers are used.
The items expense part is only used for gang weapons and the item income is never used.

For the expense numbers, these are used:
training, movie_cost, goon_wages, matron_wages, consumables, item_cost, slave_cost, brothel_cost, brothel_support, advertising
These are not:
actress_wages, staff_wages, girl_support, bar_cost, casino_cost, bribes, fines

Income is even worse, only slave_sales is ever used.
The rest are not: extortion, brothel_work, street_work, movie_income, stripper_work, barmaid_work, item_sales, clinic_income, arena_income, farm_income

Most are actually 2 different variables, in cConfig and in cGoldBase, used the same way but not interacting with each other.
That is probably why they never got working.
Also, because I never change them, I never see them not changing.

I will start trying to incorporate them into the game.
They may not get in all at once or even the same one at the same time, but eventually they should do something.


Cool!


Thanks for the fix and the fast reply.


:)


There is also something wrong with the message of how much you make in the turn. Perhaps it is related with the income/expenses modifiers but it seems to happen even with mods at 1.0 (maybe it doesnt include other gangs attacks??)

Offline msb069

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #800 on: March 14, 2015, 06:07:38 PM »
I caught a bug where the girls experience points reset to a max of 100. See attached screencaps.

Offline aevojoey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1413
  • Thats ok, I'm used to disappointment.
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #801 on: March 14, 2015, 09:27:50 PM »
I caught a bug where the girls experience points reset to a max of 100. See attached screencaps.
I did find a few possible causes but without more detail as to how you got it to occur, I can't be sure if this will fix your problems.
I'll push the fix in a bit when I check a few more things.
Fixing the game is a better game than actually playing it.
Get the Current Version <|> Discuss the Game <|> Report a bug

Offline TitanSon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #802 on: March 15, 2015, 12:49:48 AM »
hey there ^^


i registered something after i downloaded the new .14 .... when i wanna use the "nightmare fuel" (i ever do this to heal/rest my girls) i have seen that there is no tiredness reduction oO ... normally it should be 20 per potion ... now its nothing ^^

Offline msb069

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #803 on: March 15, 2015, 07:28:45 PM »
I did find a few possible causes but without more detail as to how you got it to occur, I can't be sure if this will fix your problems.
I'll push the fix in a bit when I check a few more things.

The problem seems to occur on game start. I can play a game and experience points add up as usual. It also seems to save OK, but if I guit and reload game all experience points roll back to 100. It doesn't affect girls with exp points less than 100. It still occurs with version .14

Offline aevojoey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1413
  • Thats ok, I'm used to disappointment.
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #804 on: March 15, 2015, 10:56:43 PM »
The problem seems to occur on game start. I can play a game and experience points add up as usual. It also seems to save OK, but if I guit and reload game all experience points roll back to 100. It doesn't affect girls with exp points less than 100. It still occurs with version .14
I found the problem.
When I added the fix for missing strength stats setting them to 0, I didn't include the min and max checks for the other stats.
So all stats were being limited to -100 to +100 thus exp which should have a max of 32000 was being limited to 100.

It will be fixed in the next version.
Fixing the game is a better game than actually playing it.
Get the Current Version <|> Discuss the Game <|> Report a bug

Offline _rhetorik_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #805 on: March 17, 2015, 09:35:42 AM »
There is also something wrong with the message of how much you make in the turn. Perhaps it is related with the income/expenses modifiers but it seems to happen even with mods at 1.0 (maybe it doesnt include other gangs attacks??)


I think it doesn't include gangs at all. Perhaps there should be another line saying that you made X from brothels, Y from gangs and total profit/loss is X+Y.

Offline Yukinohki

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #806 on: March 21, 2015, 11:26:32 AM »
the game crashes if i try to move the advertisement slider in any building which is not a brothel or your house
i think this bug may be very old (because nobody would usually try to do this)
i haven't seen this mentioned, but maybe i did not look deep enough in older postings
easy to avoid, so not really a problem

Also, the disposition and suspect values are only shown correctly in the brothel screens
everywhere else its shown as neutral/unsuspected, even if i'm the most evil suspect of the whole city  ;D

Offline aevojoey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1413
  • Thats ok, I'm used to disappointment.
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #807 on: March 21, 2015, 09:15:13 PM »
the game crashes if i try to move the advertisement slider in any building which is not a brothel or your house
i think this bug may be very old (because nobody would usually try to do this)
i haven't seen this mentioned, but maybe i did not look deep enough in older postings
easy to avoid, so not really a problem
Found and fixed.

Also, the disposition and suspect values are only shown correctly in the brothel screens
everywhere else its shown as neutral/unsuspected, even if i'm the most evil suspect of the whole city
I am trying to move the Player stuff out of the brothel and into cPlayer.cpp/h where it will be easier to access by anything.
This is also the first step in making the player more dynamic.
Fixing the game is a better game than actually playing it.
Get the Current Version <|> Discuss the Game <|> Report a bug

Offline aevojoey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1413
  • Thats ok, I'm used to disappointment.
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #808 on: March 23, 2015, 10:06:30 PM »
I just found a bug but I'm not sure if it should be fixed.

I got the objective to kidnap 1 girl from the streets.
I set 2 gangs to the task and one of them got a girl.
However, because they used their charisma to get the girl to voluntarily work for me, it was not considered a "kidnapping".

Should I fix it so any attempt to kidnap, even voluntary kidnapping, counts for the objective?
Or should I leave it and work with it?
Perhaps I could add a new objective for you to "get x girls to volunteer"?
This would count the walkabouts for completing it as well as the bug I found.
Fixing the game is a better game than actually playing it.
Get the Current Version <|> Discuss the Game <|> Report a bug

Offline TitanSon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
Re: Crazy and PP's mod bug thread
« Reply #809 on: March 23, 2015, 11:20:36 PM »
in my opinion is option c the better one ^^ ... im rly fine by goin with another quest ^^ ... and its as u said not a bug ... its only well programmed cause the rly-kidnapped-ones caunting for the kidnap-quest ^^