devolution

Author Topic: Whore Master Cathexis Dev (renamed from WMII)  (Read 26003 times)

Offline graodeareia

Whore Master Cathexis Dev (renamed from WMII)
« on: February 01, 2012, 08:40:03 AM »
UPDATE June 30: link
Yesterday I made a post about the new project I started. The next version of WM. I that post I said I would create a thread for the development as well as a thread for game design. Well the design thread is already up now this is the development thread. In this post I will write a tutorial about how you can get your development enviroment set up, for those that wanna play with the code. I will also explain my choice of tools and give a brief description of the code so far.
I'm a profional developer for a living (currently unemployed). I work with .NET, focused on C# for both windows apps as well as web ones. So naturaly C# would be the easiest choice for me. But that would be a problem in that the app would require the instalation of the .NET framework and thats quite a large download. Also I would still have to learn a new Framework, since I would probabily use the XNA framework, and Visual Studio Game Dev studio, both of which I have no experience with. But WM is a game that looks more like an desktop app than a game. Therefore a desktop framework would be more suited for  the development of WM2. But Windows forms is not the right choice since the app would look and feel like a bussiness app instead of a game. WPF would be the right choice here but I have no experience with that. All things considered I decided to instad go with c++. There is a popular framework called Qt. The GUI can be styled to look and feel more like a game than an desktop app. It is also portable meaning we can get it working on windows, mac and other systems like linux. That will give me a chance to work on my c++ skills, something that really appeals to me. Qt is complete enough that we would probabily not need much else. I can work with images, be styled to have a nice look